top of page

Chakana Andean Cross

Chakana Andean or Incan Cross

Chakana Andean Cross

The four “arms” of the Chakana Andean Cross represent combinations of:

- four elements of earth, air, water and fire
- four directions of the compass
- four seasons: winter, spring, summer and autumn
- four provinces of Incan Empire
- four main stars of the Southern Cross

The hole in its centre denotes Cusco, termed "the navel of the Inca Empire" and also represents the circle of hlife or the centre of the Universe.

bottom of page